Who are you?

For discussion of philosophy, religion, spirituality, or any topic that posters wish to approach from a spiritual or religious perspective.
narya
chocolate bearer
Location: Wishing I could be beachcombing, or hiking, or dragon boating

Who are you?

Post by narya »

If this topic has already been addressed here, please revive that thread, because I would enjoy reading others' responses to the question. Either here or in another thread, I'd like to hear your answer to the question, and why.

~~~~~~~

I was listening to an Audio Dharma podcast this morning, and the question was "Who are you?". The speaker went on to say that students of Buddhism will at first say, "I'm a plumber" or "I'm a mother" or (feeling clever) "I am Love" but all of these answer what they are, not who they are. Which got me to thinking...

For my answer, I first have to qualify my background and what certain words mean to me. I was raised Catholic, and taught that God is Perfect Good, Perfect Truth, Perfect Love, etc. Some of the other religions I've studied say similar things. Though I no longer profess to believe in God, I do believe that there is Perfection of Love, Goodness and Truth, and other such superlatives, in an abstract way. To understand what those ideals are, and align with them as much as an imperfect person can, seems to me to be of benefit to Society and myself.

Thus, I can still say the perfect prayer "Yes", in that I can still strive towards those ideals, even without an anthropomorphic supreme being. Of course, no one has a perfect grasp on perfection, and we all tend to misinterpret, ignore, or gloss over the painful stuff in our own unique way.

So my answer to "Who are you" is "I am the person who says "Yes" to Perfection, in an imperfect way, and you will best be able to distinguish me from others my my imperfect ways."

What say you?
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. ~ Albert Camus
Maria
Hobbit

Post by Maria »