The Tale of the Sun and Moon, abridged

Seeking knowledge in, of, and about Middle-earth.
ranger_lennier

The Tale of the Sun and Moon, abridged

Post by ranger_lennier »

Hello. I'm new to the message board, but browsing around, it sounds like there are many knowledgeable members.

Anyway, here's something I've been wondering about since I first read The Book Of Lost Tales, Part 1. Christopher Tolkien comments, "The Tale of The Sun and Moon is very long, and I have shortened it in places in brief paraphrase, without omitting any detail of interest." And indeed, there are three places where the tale is shortened. For example, as:

"There follows an account of how Vána, repeating of her past murmurings, cut short her golden hair and gave it to the Gods, and from her hair they wove sails and ropes 'more strong than any mariner hath seen, yet of the slenderness of gossamer'. The masts and spars of the ship were all of gold."

Now, Tolkien's notes did indicate that he planned on shortening this section, but nonetheless it bothers me that, in a book dedicated to presenting Tolkien's earliest Middle-earth manuscripts, and containing copious notes and commentary, this one section of the manuscript is abridged. It's a pretty unique part of the mythology, and in my version is only about 25 pages in its present form.

Has the full version ever been made available somewhere? Does anyone know how long it originally was, and why it was shortened when published? Am I actually missing anything here, or is it just the allure of what I can't have?
Voronwë the Faithful
At the intersection of here and now

Post by Voronwë the Faithful »

Hi ranger_lennier. Welcome again to the Hall of Fire!