It is currently Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:56 am 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
Poopy! I missed the special price.

Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:58 am 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
All of Jan, Kindle is giving two books free to Prime Members. It has one book from the Paper Magician author, Charlie Homberg.

https://www.amazon.com/kindle-dbs/firstreads/

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 969
Location: Small drinking village with a severe fishing problem
I have suddenly found myself both very pleased (and very in trouble) with the easy one-click buy option for kindles on Amazon, as I've just gotten myself several Middle English books (both in and about) for very cheap. Including one co-written by Tolkien!
A Middle English Reader and Vocabulary

I'm not sure what exactly sparked this sudden desire to immerse myself in Middle English but... there we are. :D

_________________
I before E except after C
Or when sounding like A as in neighbor and weigh
Or in science and ageist, when syllables split
English is weird, but I don't give a crap.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:35 am 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
Sigh. I know. Especially if you are reading a series like “The Expanse”, and you just keep buying the next in line *directly from your kindle*.

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:03 am 
Offline
Living in hope
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 40006
Location: Sailing the luminiferous aether
But it's gooooooood for you, Inanna. . . . Goooooooooood. . . .

_________________
“There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tor high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:44 am 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
Look, some people smoke, some drink, there are those who need a daily chocolate fix; some people habitually eat out, go to theatre, opera, movies.

My vice is buying books (the vast majority ebooks) at the rate of 1 to 3 a week. That means I spend bw $500 - $600 a year on my passion/weakness/habit/vice/strengthening medication.

I can live with that.

Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:54 pm 
Offline
Living in hope
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 40006
Location: Sailing the luminiferous aether
I share your vice. I mostly buy them on sale. And they take up NO space, so I’ll never have to KonMari them.

It’s also fun to read someone raving over a book and go to get a closer look on Amazon and find that I already have it.

_________________
“There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tor high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:51 am 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
Impenitent wrote:
Look, some people smoke, some drink, there are those who need a daily chocolate fix; some people habitually eat out, go to theatre, opera, movies.

My vice is buying books (the vast majority ebooks) at the rate of 1 to 3 a week. That means I spend bw $500 - $600 a year on my passion/weakness/habit/vice/strengthening medication.

I can live with that.


Shoot! I never thought of it that way! Thank you, impish.

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:59 am 
Offline
Meanwhile...
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 15161
Location: Out on the banks
I rarely spend more than $3 on a Kindle book. Case in point - both Going Postal and Wee Free Men are 1.99 right now.

_________________
Image

“I am not so blind that I can't see darkness.”
Dangerous Beans
Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:15 am 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
Ooh. I don’t have wee free men. (Rushes off).

I need stuff to read. Am okay with buying - I usually rely on my libraries, so I don’t buy much - so if anyone can recommend a series worth its salt, I’d appreciate it. Preferably world-building, but I will take good writing any day.

The NYTimes books lists have been disappointing.

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:57 am 
Offline
Meanwhile...
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 15161
Location: Out on the banks
I'm on the second Witcher book and enjoying it. It's got complicated political intrigue with magic and monsters, is less graphic than the GoT (and written earlier) and has women in a variety of roles. It doesn't feel very deep, for reasons I can't quite identify yet.

_________________
Image

“I am not so blind that I can't see darkness.”
Dangerous Beans
Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:27 am 
Offline
of Vinyamar
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:39 pm
Posts: 8743
Location: Ireland
I forget Frelga, in English?

_________________
Image
The Vinyamars on Stage! This time at Bag End


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:45 am 
Offline
Meanwhile...
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 15161
Location: Out on the banks
Alatar wrote:
I forget Frelga, in English?
Yes, and a pretty good translation. With some translations from Slavic languages, you can just tell that what you are reading is not quite English.

I'd like to find a Russian translation, though. I don't think I have enough Polish to read the original.

Oh! Speaking of, you can get the entire Fire and Sword trilogy by Henryk Sienkiewicz for. 99 on Kindle, or as an imprint of an 1899 edition free on Google books. Or on Project Guttenberg. (I'm grumpy about Amazon charging for ebooks in public domain). It's a classic of Polish literature, war and romance in the vein of Dumas or Scott, and while it's history rather than fantasy, it might as well be for most folks here. It might even provide some insight into what happened in 2016. And the movie is also great.

_________________
Image

“I am not so blind that I can't see darkness.”
Dangerous Beans
Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:27 am 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
*scampers to Kindle store*

Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:32 am 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
:D It appears I already have noth Pratchets on Kindle. I'd forgotten.

Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:32 pm 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
And now have the complete collected works of Henryk Sienkiewicz ... all of them...for 99c !


Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:59 pm 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
I got it too. But for $2.41!!!
What the heck!

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:00 pm 
Offline
2018 Fitbit Balrog*
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 12070
Ah! Found the 0.99 version, returned the 2.40$

_________________
*title copyright: Teremia

'You just said "your getting shorter": you've obviously been drinking too much ent-draught and not enough Prim's.' - Jude


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:33 pm 
Offline
Meanwhile...
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 15161
Location: Out on the banks
W00t! Let me know how you like it.

If you can find the movie, I highly recommend it. It was a collaboration between Poland and Ukraine, the two sides in the war depicted in the movie, and is more balanced than the pro-Polish novel.

_________________
Image

“I am not so blind that I can't see darkness.”
Dangerous Beans
Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:03 pm 
Offline
Throw me a rope.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 6179
Location: Deep in Oz
If I come across the movie, chances are I'll have no recollection whatsoever of your advice.
That's the way my memory swings these days. I argue it's like my bookshelves: overfull with no room for any additions.

Sent from a tiny phone keyboard via Tapatalk - typos inevitable.

_________________
Mornings wouldn't suck so badly if they came later in the day.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group